Smallest Token Means The World

In my role at work i often travel around Australia and Melbourne in particular is turning into my home away from home. Due to a few events in Melbourne last month, i found myself staying in a hotel that i had never stayed before named Jaspers. A cute place that is convinently located next to the Queen Victoria Markets. It isn’t the most elegant hotel and nor is it a backpackers.

Fast forward a month later.  I have returned to Melbourne and again i am staying at Jaspers. Even though i have been traveling for work since 2008, i find myself surprised for the first time as i check into Jaspers.

After throwing down my posessions and jumping on the bed for a moment, i find an envelope on the dressing table and it is addressed to Mr Magro.

“What on earth was this?” i wondered.

Was it from work? Was there something about my hotel room i needed to know about? Was there an unpaid charge from my last stay? I honestly had no idea.

I opened it up to find a card but it wasn’t my birthday.

What i found was this;

Wow!

I have stayed at many hotels and they all have their loyality programs but this is the first time that a hotel has really built some loyality with me. I’m a valued customer.

They didn’t need to offer me a free night once i accumulated the approperiate amount of points, i wasn’t being bought with a complimentry breakfast…

A 40 cent card with 20 seconds of the managers time to personalise the card was all it took for me to have a positive impression of them. In an age where retailers fear online shopping will send them bankrupt, here is a company which has made a concious effort to create a satified buyer.

If you are in an industry where you deal with customers on a daily basis, reflect on how you interact with your customers. What can you do to stand out and be memorable?

If you are struggling for ideas i will give you a few;

  • Ask for your customers name and use it throughout the conversation
  • Remember customer past orders
  • Offer your customers a drink of water, tea or coffee
  • Be prompt in acknowledging them
  • Provide an inexpensive item as something for nothing
  • Put in a little extra

There are many ways which you can stand out. Remember that is always harder to attract a new customer then it is to upsell an existing customer. If you are sales driven or looking to achieve your budget you should first look at your existing customer base.

Leave a Reply

