Reward Yourself

“Before the reward there must be labor. You plant before you harvest. You sow in tears before you reap joy.” – Ralph Ransom


About four years ago when I was working as a manager I had set myself a career goal to become a sales trainer. It was a perfect combination of teacher and performer in an industry that I accidentally  fell into but loved. This wasn’t just a want this was a must achieve goal for me.

I remember walking past a jeweler one day and spotting this fantastic watch which was stylish and professional.  I tried it on and it was perfect… except it was worth $1,000. I ended up putting the watch on layby/layaway to make me work harder for the watch and when I did finally get the watch I promised not to wear it until I had achieved my goal in being a sales trainer. That goal was achieved just two and a half years ago.

So what about you?

2011 on The Art of Conversations has seen a focus on goals and I hope by now you have set your own goal. Quit smoking, get a promotion, lose weight or gain a new life skill could be one of yours but are you rewarding yourself?  Have you linked a pleasure to your goal?

If you haven’t already done so, take a moment to analyse your goal and find a way to reward yourself. If your goal is to lose weight, go and buy a nice piece of clothing in your desired size. How amazing will it feel to fit in those brand new jeans which were initially too small? Why not take a holiday with all the money you save from not smoking?

Goals are achieved through hard work, discipline and being uncomfortable. In the March review I will explain some of the changes I have made in my diet which have already shown rapid results in a short period.

Have you set yourself a reward if you achieve a goal? I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

