Appreciating The Little Things

You may remember that some time ago I mentioned that I bought an iPad and I love it. From the books that I “buy” to the videos I’m able to view as well as the array of applications at my disposal. Yes this tablet will be my best purchase of 2011 (unless I buy a house).

One of my favourite apps on the iPad is named TED.

“TED is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design”. I’ve watched videos on using recycled goods to build a house, how video games can re-stimulate  young boys at school to Darwin’s theory on beauty. My favourite talk has come from Neil Pasricha talking about the “3 A’s of Awesome”.

 

Some Of My Favourite Little Things

1. Being With Your Partner – Six years on I still love waking up next to, sitting on the coach mindless with and being across the table from Nicole. I don’t need to spend all my money on the weekend chasing thrills when I’m happily enjoying life with the perfect girl.

2. Unexpected Free/Discount – How awesome is it when you are given something useful free or as you go to pay for an item the cash register shows a price that is cheaper then you expect.

3. Smell And Taste Of Fresh Fruit – Mango, Pineapple, Banana, Passion fruit, Strawberries, Manderins… any fruit really. I’ve always loved fruit. My close friend Dave always called fruit “Gods candy” (which was always funny because he is an Atheist) but I don’t think I fully appreciated it until I went to Thailand where I was limited to the fruits available but at the same time could get a fresh mango cut up on the side of the road for 30 cents. Magical!

4. Having A Shower – Another item I took for grants until my South East Asian trips where I found myself at times washing out of a bucket of cold water or a hose with no pressure. Whether you have a shower when you wake up and just before you sleep, nothing makes you feel greater then when you come out of a steaming hot shower. I always feel like I have had a few cans of Redbull.

5. Finding Money – is truely awesome! As a child my oldest mate Deke and I found $100 as we were riding our push bikes around Neeta City in Fairfield, when we were walking to Luna Park we found $50, walking home one day from work I found $100… the amount of times I have found $1, $5, $20 or greater is amazing and you know what, it never gets old. The moment you spot it the challenge is on to do it without someone else noticing first and then once you have you have it you start to swirl around ideas on what you can use it on.

6. Cold Coke – I’m a coke addict from way back (coca-cola) and nothing takes my mind off the pains in life then a bottle of coke. My mouth salivates from the first “psst” as you open the bottle and the bubbles start to fiz. My mum says she was addicted to coke and prawns while she was pregnant with me. I think this might explain my love of both.

7. Being Right – Maybe it is the competitiveness or maybe it’s a shade of arrogance, i love being right. From guessing a song name and artist before it is revealed on tv music clip show to making a claim and finding the facts to back you up. Many of my friends who read this will know I love being right.

8. Friends – I am fortunate to have an amazing group of friends who can be relied on at any time. When I am bored there is always someone there, when I want to do something outside there is always someone making a suggestion or if there is a night of drinking they all make the effort to attend. I am lucky with the access that I have against my parents at my age thanks to mobile phones, facebook and email. These tools keep me in touch and updated.

9. Before A Storm – My friend Stuart would always get excited when a storm was approaching and we would always go walking outside to experience the moist breeze, the trees rattling and the dark clouds start to take over the skies. There also is a real thrill to not knowing when the skies might open up.

10. Wearing Clothes From The Dryer – During the winter I will throw my undies into the dryer and have them tumble dry while I take a shower. The moment you put them on is like heaven!  At times I can also be a lazy man so if I ever need to wear a business shirt that needs ironing but I can’t be bothered I will just throw it in the dryer and by the time I have had a shower and shave… BING it’s crisp and ready to wear (plus awesomely warm).

If you would like to see the TED presentation you can find it below. I would also strongly recommend you check out Neil’s website – 1000 Awesome Things

 

What are some of the little things that you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

